The Winner of the 14th National Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition is Murat Çakıcı from Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

The oldest gastronomy association in the world “Chaîne des Rôtisseurs” branch in Turkey organized the 14th National Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition on March 18th, 2010 at Yeditepe University. The 1st prize winner of the competition, Murat Çakıcı from Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet will represent Turkey among other 25 countries from Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia and the Americas in the International Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition which will take place in Helsinki, Finland on September 17th, 2010. The second prize winner was Gökhan Özer from Moevenpick Hotel Istanbul and the third prize winner was İbrahim Akdeniz from Swissotel The Bosphorus – Istanbul.

Ten talented chefs from various hotels and restaurants around Turkey participated in the competition where the young chefs showed all their talents. Each was given a mystery basket (black box) each containing 55 different ingredients, including 6 mandatory ingredients that they should use in their cooking. Each competitor had approximately four and a half hours, of which the first 30 minutes was spent on deciding what food each competitor will cook and writing of a three course menu; including an appetizer, a main course and a dessert for four persons, with the ingredients that are revealed only at the start of the competition.

The judging panel that was comprised of 13 judges of which 7 were professional chefs and 6 non-professional members of the Chaîne des Rôtisseurs, evaluated and rated each dish to select the first three winners, based on three main criteria; taste, presentational and originally/creativity. This year’s professional judges included the Executive Chef of Şans Restaurant, Ali Ekber Sarıgül; the Executive Chef of Mid Town Hotel, Ali Davut, the Executive Chef of the new Pera Place Hotel, Maximillian Thomae, the owner of Neva Palas Hotel Yasemin Köksal, the head of Service Department/ Tourism and Hotel School at Bilkent University, Ali Ünal and the Vegetarian Specialist Chef Mark Decker. The non-professional judges included the Managing Director of Gate Gourmet USAŞ, Mohamed Hammam, the owner of Şans Restaurant Niso Adato, Anthony Betts from Yeditepe Univeristy; the Chaîne des Rôtisseurs Board Members, Güven Osma and Tuluy Ergörül, and the general manager of Etihad Airline-Turkey Fatoş Kutay. The kitchen judge was the Instructor Chef de Cuisine Yeditepe University, Nicolas Cartier. The overall organizers of the competition were the former Consultant Executive Chef of Acıbadem Hospital and culinary instructor at Yeditepe University, Aybek Şurdum and the Executive Chef of LSG Sky Chefs, Erich Ruppen, assisted by the board member from Ankara Bailliage Tiğin Sertcan.

At the Prize Award Ceremony moderated by the Head of Chaîne des Rôtisseurs Turkey Mohamed Hammam, he thanked all who have contributed to the success of the competition. Thereafter the recognition of the event sponsors, namely:
- Pro. Dr. Bike Kocaoğlu from Yeditepe University for their overall support, and for hosting the competition at their esteemed university;
- Bengiz Uniforms for sponsoring these fine chefs jackets;
- Wüsthof Knives for sponsoring the prizes;
- G2M, Ekol Gıda, Imren Marmara, A&S and Tamer Et & Tavuk for sponsoring the ingredients of the mystery baskets;
- Mey Içki and their Kayra wineries for sponsoring the alcoholic beverage for the award ceremony cocktail.

And finally the announcement of the winners and handing over the medals and diplomas were conducted.