The Winner of the 13th National Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition is Elif Şahbaz from Sheraton Hotel - Ankara

The oldest gastronomy association in the world “Chaîne des Rôtisseurs” branch in Turkey organized the 13th National Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition on March 24th, 2009 in Yeditepe University. The 1st prize winner of the competition, Elif Şahbaz from Sheraton Hotel Ankara will represent Turkey among other 25 countries from Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia and the Americas in the International Young Commis Rôtisseurs Competition which will take place on October 2nd, 2009 at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, New York, USA. The second prize winner was Güngor Taş from Divan Hotel Talya – Antalya, and the third prize winner was İbrahim Akdeniz from Swissotel The Bosphorus – Istanbul.

Ten talented chefs from various hotels and restaurants around Turkey participated in the competition where the young chefs showed all their talents. Each was given a mystery basket (black box) each containing 67 different ingredients, including 5 mandatory ingredients that they should use in their cooking. Each competitor had approximately four and a half hours, of which the first 30 minutes was spent on deciding what food each competitor will cook and writing a three course menu; including an appetizer, a main course and a dessert for four persons with the ingredients revealed only at the very beginning of the competition.

The judging panel that was comprised of 13 judges of which 7 were professional chefs and 6 non-professional members of the Chaîne des Rôtisseurs, evaluated and rated each dish to select the first three winners, based on three main criteria; taste, presentational and originally/creativity. This year’s professional judges included the owner of Feriye Restaurant, Vedat Başaran, Executive Chef of Four Seasons Hotel, Fabio Brambilla; the Executive Chef of Şans Restaurant, Ali Ekber Sarıgül; the Executive Chef of Mid Town Hotel, Ali Davut, Selim Kansu from Antalya; and the Executive Chef of Moevenpick Hotel, Maximillian Thomae. The non-professional judges included the Managing Director of Gate Gourmet USAŞ, Mohamed Hammam, Niso Adato, the owner of Şans Restaurant, Hasan Açanal from Yeditepe Univeristy; the Chaîne des Rôtisseurs Board Members, Güven Osma and Tuluy Ergörül; the Board Member of the Antalya Bailliage, Yves Leon and the Board Member of the Ankara Bailliage, Tiğin Sertcan. The kitchen judge was the Instructor Chef de Cuisine Yeditepe University, Nicolas Cartier. The overall organizers of the competition were the former Consultant Executive Chef of Acıbadem Hospital and culinary instructor at Yeditepe University, Aybek Şurdum and the Executive Chef of LSG Sky Chefs, Erich Ruppen.

At the Prize Award Ceremony moderated by the Head of Chaîne des Rôtisseurs Turkey Mohamed Hammam thanked all who have contributed to the success of the competition. Thereafter the recognition of the event sponsors, namely:

- Mrs. Bike Kocaoğlu from Yeditepe University for their overall support and for opening the University kitchens for this event

- Bengiz Uniforms for sponsoring these fine chefs jackets;

- Wüsthof Knives for sponsoring the prizes;

- A Plus/Acıbadem and their suppliers G2M for sponsoring the ingredients of the mystery baskets;

- Imren Marmara for sponsoring the sea food ingredients;

- Mey Içki and their Kayra wineries for sponsoring the alcoholic beverage for this cocktail.
And finally the announcement of the winners and handing over the medals and diplomas were conducted.

In order to see photos from the event please click